August 7, 2011 – EYE OF THE TIGER!!

08/07/2011

Today was my 1st triathlon and a VERY BIG day for me!  Caregiver survives, Triathlete emerges…  [WATCH VIDEO]

12 Responses to “August 7, 2011 – EYE OF THE TIGER!!”

  1. Fran Firek said

    I’m so glad I was there to witness your triumph. You have come such a long way. Daddy-O has to be so proud of you – a Sprint Triathalon! That’s something he never accomplished. He was a runner, but felt he couldn’t do the swim. He must be grinning ear to ear – his little Jo-Jo.

    LY, Mom

    • WOW. To think that I just did something that even DAD thought was too hard to consider–awesome!! 🙂 I hope I can pass along some of the magical inspiration Daddy-O gave me over the years… Thanks again, Mom, for coming and for shooting video of the event. You’re an amazing Mom and a great Assistant Cameraman! 😉

  2. Joleen,

    Big smile on my face! You Da Woman!!! I love it! Alzheimer’s survivor- that’s perfect. You are, and you’ll be inspiring others to join you.
    Best,
    Carole

  3. Congratulations! Was this in Howell? I was one of the volunteers along the bike route for the Trek Woman’s Triathlon that was held in Howell, MI. I was exhausted just watching the bikers ride by. 🙂

    • Yes, that’s the one–I did the Trek Women’s Tri in Howell, MI! During the bike ride, another cyclist and I declared, “Thank God for gears and volunteers!” 🙂 Your support along the route made it easier to accomplish! Thank you so much for your support!!

  4. Bill Parke said

    Proud of you girl!!

  5. Amanda Davis said

    Congrats Jo! And thanks for this very needed uplifting message right now! Definitely needed to hear you say the words, “I live an intentional life” – my new mantra! Thank you!! Blessings & hugs!

  6. Congratulations on turning a new corner after providing years of family caregiving to your father who had Alzheimer’s. I love your outlook on life and your drive to move beyond that profound life experience. I have created a website out of my experience being the family caregiver for my husband who is in a long-term facility now since he stopped walking. I invite you, and others, to visit me there and to submit your stories so all of us can benefit from one another’s experience: http://www.remembering4you.com. This is a problem that is worldwide and we all need to help one another.

    Ethelle

  7. Pat duPont said

    It was nice to meet you on Saturday at the UCP!

    I have watched your videos and read your story.
    Truly very inspiring.
    Thank you for sharing your life and love of your dad, and your devotion and insight to this horrible disease that may help other families cope during this time in their lives.

    Pat DuPont

    • Thank you for you warm feedback to my comment and congratulations on completing your 1st triathlon. My business hook like is “You can put a new show on the road, even after caregiving” and you are one more proof of that. Thank you for watching the “Stories” at remembering4you.com as it is important for others to remember that each person with Alzheimer’s is intact on the inside, at the heart and soul level.

      ~ Ethelle

Leave a Reply

