The Dreaded (yet long-prayed for) Phone Call

04/15/2010

I am too emotional and strapped for time to edit this video down to be any shorter than it currently is, let alone even add one dissolve to it.

An intervention of fate?… I dropped my camera and my lens cracked this week – but I videotaped the events as they unfolded nonetheless, cracked lens and all!

9 Responses to “The Dreaded (yet long-prayed for) Phone Call”

  1. Rev. Ric Beattie said

    My dear friends, my heart is breaking with you about this new news and I am so not surprised that Frank is hurtling toward the next experience. Love is guiding you all during this time of transition. You are not alone!

    • My father is an intelligent man. I believe that he is still in control of his destiny and this quick timing is all his doing. May God bless him and send familiar angels down to greet him during his preparation for transition into a beautiful place he KNOWS exists.

      ~J

  2. Amanda Davis said

    I am holding you all in God’s healing loving light and knowing that grace & mercy are with you all.

    Love you!

  3. Brian Zarek said

    Joleen, You and your family will continue to be in my prayers.

    Blessings!

  4. Stephanie Gotts (Knoy) said

    Hi Jo-
    I’m so sorry to hear about your Dad. Your updates are incredible. I’m sure your Dad is very proud. This must be so hard for you and your family. I don’t know if it helps, but keep in mind that there are many people thinking about you and praying for you. If there is anything I can do, please let me know.
    Stephanie

  5. Barry said

    How is your father?

    I only wish we could have met as he seems like quite a character I could have learned a great deal from I reckon 😀

    I just found your story and am deeply saddened as I have, and still am walking in your shoes, yet before you.

    Doctors are sometimes wrong.

    If by chance they aren’t, you will soon feel a weight greater than the entire world lifted from your beautiful, caring shoulders.

    You must accept this enlightenment … you have earned it, and no matter how you may feel, you have no reason to feel any guilt what so ever.

    Regards,

    B.

  6. Sarah Johnstone Gren said

    Jo, I’m so sorry. Please know that I am thinking of you. Please let me know if I can do anything.

    ~Sarah

  7. Tracey A. said

    Hello everyone, I am one of Frank’s caregivers @ Courtyard Manor of Farmington Hills. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting the Firek Family: Frances, Joleen, Todd, Frank Jr. and just in the past couple of days I’ve met so many family members. Joleen, your whole family is wonderful and it shows that when you have to come together as one, it will be done. I am so proud of your family’s strength and ability to turn a tragedy into a positive learning experience. I’ve learned how great Mr. Frank is through all of you guys. Thank you Joleen and the rest of the Firek Family!

Leave a Reply

