January 12, 2010 – TAKING A TIME OUT

01/12/2010

(Real-time entry)

It’s been two weeks since I have stepped foot in my own house as I have been staying at my mom’s since January 31st (when it was still my mom and dad’s).  What a long, emotional two weeks it has been.  But I finally packed up my things and returned home two days ago on Sunday night to try to get back to my “normal” life.  I had plans the next day to forego a visit with my dad for the first time since he’s been at the nursing home.  I thought these were things I needed to do.  But the transition wasn’t as flawless as I had anticipated.

Home less than an hour, I went to bed early not feeling so great.  My stomach was upset and I just felt crummy in general.  Throughout the night things got progressively worse and I started to think that perhaps I had food poisoning coming on.  I would get hot, then cold, and I was sweating but had no fever.  I became intensely dizzy and, in my coma state of sleep with an over-the-counter sleep aide, I’m not sure if I kept falling back asleep or if I kept passing out.  At one point upon waking up, my hands and arms were tingling and I actually took the time to write my symptoms on a notepad in the dark on my night stand in case someone found me there unconscious.  I considered calling an ambulance, but I was too much in an unfit state of mind to make a rational decision.  I thought I had awoken my roommate and asked her to drive me to the hospital (she had refused, telling me it wasn’t that serious if I didn’t have a fever), but I now realize that I either dreamt or hallucinated that event.  I woke up after noon the next day and, at that point, I could assess with a clearer head that something was still wrong. My vision was wobbly and when it intensified I would get severely dizzy and begin sweating.  I had just decided to somehow get myself to the hospital when my mother called me from out of the blue and then came to my rescue.

She and I spent four hours in the emergency room waiting for a verdict.  After an EKG, blood work and a physical exam, it was determined that I am having a stress-induced anxiety attack with vertigo-like symptoms.  The news made me cry with relief – and then with distress as I realized how everything has gotten the best of me despite my best efforts.  The most ironic part is that they put me on the same anti-anxiety pill that my father is now on at the nursing home to calm his nerves and emotions!  Wow, and I thought I was doing so well! 

It’s funny.  I thought I was dealing with this as best as possible: I’ve been analyzing my emotions instead of locking them away; seeking therapeutic measures to understand the process I am going through as I’m going through it; and documenting my experience as a promise to both myself and my dad in order to help others going through a similar experience.  That last part has even helped give purpose to the tragic events, making me feel like some good can come out of this all.

However, I guess the danger is that much of what I do in my spare time and for work (which lately has been mostly my blog/website and documentary movie in-the-making) is all based on Alzheimer’s – which doesn’t allow me much of a break from the topic of my personal life.  And because I’ve decided to make this personal experience open to the public, I haven’t saved many undisturbed places for myself to go when I need respite.  Between editing my dad’s autobiography for half a year recently, shooting my experiential movie for nearly three years, plus living through this emotional rollercoaster daily, I guess I’m just on overload.  When your eyesight gets wobbly, you start seeing the world through a wormhole and you’re have trouble breathing, I guess it’s time to assess your life.

I think my job now is to focus on some non-Alzheimer’s topics and figure out how to continue on with my life – which of course entails figuring out what “the rest of my life” truly means to me.  That’s a wide open sea, which the rational side of me knows means lots of opportunities, but the emotional side of me sighs and wonders where I’m going to go from here.  An income-producing job and dating probably land somewhere on that list, but there are still a lot of unknowns as I am forced to redefine my life and figure out what paths to take from here.  And there is such an emotional fine line for me to figure out regarding how often to visit my dad and how much to let go. 

Like I’ve said before, you never know how you’re going to react to a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s in your life.  It affects everyone differently in different ways and at a different pace.  This is apparently my current route to travel in order to get to the other side.

NOTE: In order to allow myself the necessary space to recoup so that I can come back clear-headed and healthy, I am inviting GUEST BLOGGERS to participate on this website for the next week.  If you’d like to share your thoughts, experiences, visits with Dad, or any other wisdom on this topic, please feel free to post something.  As I have to officially assign Guest Bloggers, I have only given access to a few people at this point.  If you’re interested, let me know or else simply type your thoughts using COMMENT under someone’s blog entry and it’ll show up on the site as a conversation thread.  Thanks for reading, caring and for participating!  ~Joleen

2 Responses to “January 12, 2010 – TAKING A TIME OUT”

  1. Judy & Jim O'connor said

    You are so brave and courageous! You have reported to all of us so dilligently & factually. That has to take it’s tole just there. It takes years & years of experience to be able to emotionally detach so one can effectively deal with such tragic issues. (i.e., This is what so many physicians are faced with) Here, you are kinda surprised it caught up with you & manifested itself this way. It sounds like you already are on the road to healing. You won’t let Alzheimer define YOU. Here’s to new work, someone to give you mushy kisses (& not your neices & nephews) We all have nothing by total admiration for all of you children (Mum, of course too) & how you’ve rallied & will continue to for our beloved Frank! Kisses, J

  2. Judy, thanks for the acknowledgement. Trying to be wise and step back for my own good (which is for the whole family’s good). Hope to be back online regularly very soon…! Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

