January 8, 2010 – A TURNING POINT?

01/08/2010

(Real-time Entry)

Two better days in a row now for my dad – plus last night he was given a sleeping pill which seems to have allowed him to finally get some much-needed rest!  Thank God.

You know, this disease is so interesting in that you’re never sure what you’re going to find when you walk into the room with him.  Just two months ago in November, Dad was starting to have trouble with some immediate family members’ names and faces.  The bottom of the pit was when we introduced himself to my mother twice.  And he had begun calling me by my brother Todd’s name on occasion.  Sometimes he’d even ask me in mid-conversation, Where’d that girl go that was just sitting here? The one with the black hair?  Where’s your sister?  Tell me when she gets back because I have something important to tell her…

But magically sometime in December prior to Christmas, he snapped back a few notches and – even despite the confusion and trauma he’s gone through at the nursing home this past week – he still continues to know WITHOUT A DOUBT who I am, my mother, and my brothers!  It’s a miracle and a gift! – albeit a temporary one, I know. Regardless, we’ll TAKE it!  🙂  It’s so exciting for me that Dad is currently funneling through ALL of the different nicknames he has for me, referring to me just last night as “Shmoe” (aka Joe the Shmoe).  When I left the table for a few minutes, I was told that he turned to my cousin and asked, Where’d Shmoe go?  It’s so cute and playful and I am so bloody thankful every single time he does it! 

We’re not sure sometimes if Dad knows every friend and family member who visits with him but it is amazing how, even on days when he doesn’t appear to know someone by name, he still knows what people are associated with that person!  For example, my cousin Karrie didn’t think Dad knew who she was last night when she visited, but Dad kept talking to her about “Bill” (her husband), recounting some real and some made up stories about his interactions with Bill.  When our family friend Joyce visited Dad at our home around Christmastime, Joyce was positive that he no longer knew who she was yet he kept talking to her about “Kathy” (my aunt and Joyce’s best friend)!  On Dad’s first full-day at the nursing home, when we visited him with my Aunt Kathy in tow, Dad called her once by her full name (which pleased her greatly!) and then proceeded to tell “Jack” stories (her husband).  He’s a very smart fellow and it is fascinating to see the brain at work and which parts still connect on some days. 

Probably because Dad’s last two days have been better and less emotional for him, my past two days have come with some emotional relief as well.  On some emotional purging expedition, I even went and cut off my hair!  I literally put my head in my hairdresser’s hands after making it VERY CLEAR that she couldn’t cut it TOO SHORT or else I might risk confusing my dad.  I want him to recognize me for as long as humanly possible…

There were a few good signs yesterday at the nursing home.  First, I think Dad barely cried.  Secondly, when my mom walked into his bedroom after he had awoken from his nap, she found him standing dressed at the foot of the bed not upset.  He said, Oh, hi, honey!  She noticed that he had removed a framed photo from the wall of her and him in Hilton Head with their favorite band, The Headliners, and it was now peacefully resting on the window sill.  I would like to think that this means that the photos I hung the other night are making a difference for him, that he’s noticing them and perhaps they’re part of what’s calming him when he awakes.  Thirdly, when I arrived last night after dinner, Dad was happily sweeping the dining room floor!!!  Sweeping was a chore he did regularly at home.  I believe this is a sign that he has begun to place pride and ownership in his new surroundings and – in perfect Frank Firek style! – he wants to help out and be of assistance.  He is amazing and it always moves my heart to see him in action like the old days!  Of course, he paused when it came time to figure out the dustpan and he was much better at the sweeping aspect itself.  But in a playful way, he purposely banged the broom against chair legs and wheelchair wheels while he was sweeping, and he jokingly said to the ladies sitting in those chairs, Oh, I’m sorry, was I bothering you??  🙂

He has made a new friend at the home.  Her name is Carmen.  The two positive attributes of Carmen is that she giggles non-stop at everything (so Dad thinks he’s pretty funny!) and that she is an opera singer with a beautiful voice.  It’s great to see her sing and Dad dancing around her!  Music and humor are still two big ways into his heart and they always lead him to his happy place!  I’ve seen Dad kiss Carmen on her hand a couple of times but, then again, which lady doesn’t he do that to?  🙂  Last night, he kissed Carmen on the hand and then he immediately turned to my mom and kissed her on her hand!  What an interesting trio!

My mom and my brother Frank Jr. met with the nursing home director yesterday afternoon, one week into Dad’s stay.  The director was describing how many people get dropped off at the home and then have very few visitors throughout their stay.  Then he commented on how incredibly close our family appears to be and how he can tell that Dad’s moods seem to be directly related to us and his interactions with us.  He is pleased that we are there nearly around the clock during Dad’s waking hours to help him with his transition.  He also suggested that Dad’s violent outburst his first night at the nursing home wasn’t as bad as it sounded and that they’ve never witnessed any behavior even close to that from him since.  Then he suggested that we might want to attempt soon to take Dad out for a day trip to someplace familiar!  So, this Sunday, Dad is going to spend the day at Frank and Amy’s playing with his grandkids!!!  We are SO excited!  A week into the transition, with his meds re-adjusted and his good mood back, maybe we’re at a turning point here.  That would be such a blessing and a relief!  There’s nothing worse than watching a loved one in pain.  I’ll take his smile over tears any day!  xo

Leave a Reply

