November 18, 2007 – THE CHOCOLATE JUBILEE

11/24/2009

Today was the Alzheimer’s Association Greater-Michigan Chapter annual fundraising event, The Chocolate Jubilee.  Apparently, this event is in its 23rd year.  I’ve never heard of it but, then again, I barely knew what “Alzheimer’s” was until 6 months ago.

Mom and Dad learned about The Chocolate Jubilee during the 7-week couples’ support group they attended this fall via the Alzheimer’s Association.  We went as a family to the luncheon, including my Mom’s sister (Aunt Kathy) and her daughters who are my close cousins (Katie and Karrie).  I’m not sure what we all expected from the event, except that we were very interested in hearing from the Keynote Speaker, Dr. Richard Taylor, a retired organizational psychologist whom has been living with an early-onset Alzheimer’s diagnosis for six years now.

Dr. Taylor was remarkable.  He started off saying he got nervous when he couldn’t find his speech notes a little while ago.  🙂  He flew to the event with the help of his wife, his permanent traveling companion now; apparently, he can’t travel alone anymore because he can’t keep track of his itinerary or maneuver confusing airports, etc.  Something we have to look forward to with Dad, I’m sure.

He read some excerpts from his book, Alzheimer’s from the Inside Out.  It’s a collection of diary entries/articles he wrote privately for his own peace of mind, but discovered upon sharing them once that they had value beyond his own two eyes.  I am very anxious and excited to read the book!  This is one piece of research information I haven’t come across yet which I think will be invaluable!  To get inside the mind of someone living with Alzheimer’s, to get a glimpse of what they see, feel how they feel…  I want desperately to understand my dad’s (ever-shifting?) point of view as much as humanly possible so that I connect with him stronger and communicate with him better – on his level.  I AM SO EXCITED THIS BOOK EXISTS!!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

