October 16, 2007 – ROCK BOTTOM

11/05/2009

Even though Dad is now retired, Mom still goes into the family business 3-5 days a week.  She is ultimately preparing the company and its books for her retirement in a few months so that she can be with Dad fulltime.  His Alzheimer’s diagnosis and ensuing retirement just came too quickly for her to exit the company at the same time. 

So, as usual, Mom went to work today.  But she received a shocking phone call at her desk in the early afternoon.  It was our family doctor.  Surprised to hear his voice, she said, “What are YOU doing calling ME?”  He said that my dad had called the doctor’s office in a bad state asking for him specifically.  When he took the phone call, my dad was crying hard and said he needed help.  Dr. Wayne informed my mom that he had called in a prescription for the antidepressant Lexipro and that she needed to go home immediately. 

Mom raced home.  And then it all came out.  Dad is doing horribly.  He tries to appear upbeat but he is struggling.  Struggling with having no remaining purpose in life, no desire to do anything, feeling every morning and every day like there is no point to living.  He is lost, lethargic, upset, confused, and feels all alone and helpless. He is dying – and he knows it.

I am just angry and shocked to find out that he’s doing this bad!  Quite frankly, I assumed Dad had gone on antidepressants directly after my suggestion at our family meeting a full month ago.  My bad, I guess I should’ve followed up on that with my mom.  Let’s face it, everyone’s struggling and sometimes details get passed by.  Two minds are definitely better than one on this.

My poor, poor, Daddy-O…

Leave a Reply

