June 30, 2007 – “BECAUSE I LOVE YOU” JEWELRY

10/20/2009

Today Mom shared with me that she ordered Dad a MedicAlert® + Safe Return bracelet.  She said that she’s going to hide it away in a drawer until it’s time – and she thinks that time is still quite a way off.  I think she’s probably right. 

But how do you really know when wandering is going to start?  I mean, does it just start one day?  Or will symptoms get so much worse first that it’ll be obvious when “it’s time”?  There are just SO many questions that run through your head!

I have taken advantage of the Alzheimer’s Association 24/7 Helpline a few times lately. (24/7 Helpline: 1-800-272-3900) The women on the other end have always been so very patient, kind, knowledgeable and available to talk for as long as I need.  I initially called when I was overwhelmed and confused while researching in-home care options for future use.  “Long Term Care Counselors”, “Social Workers”, “Case Managers”… give me a break.  But they were able to explain the system to me, both public and private, and send me in some very helpful directions.  I highly recommend this number whenever you have a question.  I initially thought they were community volunteers but it turns out they are highly trained staff and can help you with everything from emotions and safety-proofing strategies to legal and financial matters.  What a great FREE service!

So, I hope that the day we have to put the bracelet on Dad is waaaay off in the future.  But I am so proud of Mom, relieved that she’s taking advice in stride, comforted that she’s covering the bases to properly prepare us before we have a catastrophe in our life.  Because I’m sure it’s just a matter of time.

Leave a Reply

